Team GB Hockey Olympics Paris 2024

Birmingham Hockey Alumni make up third of Olympic Women’s Squad

PATHWAY TO PARIS – Five Birmingham alumni have been selected to represent Team GB Hockey at this year’s upcoming Olympic Games 2024.

Amy Costello, Hannah French, Lily Owsley, Flora Peel, Anna Toman have been included in the 16-strong squad which was announced ahead of this week’s Team GB ‘Kitting Out’ media sessions at Birmingham NEC.


Current third year University of Birmingham scholar Lily Walker will be on stand-by for the Women’s reserve list which would take the total of Birmingham representation to six.


Lily Owsley on the hockey field

Birmingham’s most decorated current hockey international Lily Owsley has been selected for her third Olympic Games having previously enjoyed medal success in both Rio and Tokyo.


The women’s squad features a wealth of Olympic experience with four athletes from the Rio 2016 squad being selected for Paris.


Men’s alumnus Nick Banderak misses out on selection for the Men’s team, with over a third of the squad making their Olympic debut.

Women’s Head Coach David Ralph said: “A huge congratulations to the players that have been selected to represent Team GB at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. Whether this is your fourth Games or your first, being selected for an Olympics is an incredibly special moment which I know means a lot to all of our players.


“The GB women’s squad has a long history at the Olympic Games, and we now have the opportunity to create our own history. This is our moment and our chance to create memories for life.


“To the whole squad, I want to recognise their hard work and dedication that they’ve shown for the whole cycle. They have all played and will continue to play a really important role in terms of making sure the selected squad go into the Games in the best position possible.”

The Paris 2024 Olympic Hockey squad:


· Giselle Ansley – Kingsbridge


· Fiona Crackles – Kirkby Lonsdale


· Sophie Hamilton – Banbury

· Tess Howard – Cambridge

· Sarah Jones – Cardiff


· Hollie Pearne-Webb – Captain – Belper


· Izzy Petter – Loughborough

· Miriam Pritchard (GK) – Oxford

· Sarah Robertson – second Games – Melrose

· Laura Roper – fourth Games – Sutton Coldfield


· Charlotte Watson – first Games – Dundee

Reserves for the women’s team:

· Grace Balsdon – Canterbury

· Jess Buchanan (GK) – Glasgow




· James Albery –Hertford

· David Ames – Captain – Cookstown

· Will Calnan – first Games – Chobham

· Jacob Draper Grifiths Town – Pontypool

· Gareth Furlong –Cambridge

· David Goodfield –Telford

· Lee Morton – Glasgow

· Nick Park – Reading

· Ollie Payne (GK) –Torquay

· Phil Roper – Chester

· Liam Sanford – Wegberg Germany

· Rupert Shipperley – Cwmbran

· Zach Wallace – Caterham

· Jack Waller – Kingston

· Sam Ward – Leicester

· Conor Williamson – Esher

Reserves for the men’s team:

· James Mazarelo (GK) – Bowden

· Tim Nurse – first Games – Bournemouth

· Tom Sorsby – second Games – Sheffield